Since I finished my last exam on the 14th of November, there have been six and a half weeks. 48 days. Within these six and a half weeks (48 days) I’ve spent one week (7 days) on leavers, 2 (non-consecutive) weeks with gastro (12 days), 10 days at work, 6 days being just generally sick – over-heating in the hot Aussie sun, 7 days in collie and maybe one or two days seeing friends. This means I’ve had probably 4 days where I’ve done absolutely nothing at all however I’m fairly disappointed in my body over the large amounts of sick time I’ve had. I feel like I’m wasting so much time, so many events I’ve had to bail on and so many people I haven’t gotten to see all because I’ve been sick. As glad as I am that I didn’t get sick during exams (Even though I did have bronchitis and like stress colds, I certainly didn’t have gastro, thank god) I still feel like it sucks that I pretty much spent the last month of 2013 sick and unable to do anything. I’d finally think I’m all better and it’d come back to bite me. When I got sick at the Beaufort Street festival I was at the ambulance and they checked my blood sugar levels and everything and they thought I was diabetic. Now I know that I am not the healthiest person however for me, this was a massive wake up call. I was so scared for myself and my health. I from then on decided I had to start drinking water. I really just want to be better and if the only way to do so is be healthier then that’s what I’m going to do. I’m not going to let this be one of those New Years Resolutions that I make and never follow through on. This resolution has a past and a future, I’d prefer to live past 50 and at the rate I’m going apparently that is something to strive for. So I’m going to strive for it. I’ve given up trying to give up chocolate but I sure as hell can make sure all my meals in between are healthier and making sure I actually exercise regularly as opposed to my “whenever-there’s-no-one-home” regime I going at the moment. So my new years resolution is to live another year. I already have this feeling that this year will be a whole shit ton better and I can’t wait to get started. So here’s to getting over this ridiculous sickness and to moving on with things. 

Leave a Reply

